Special Sessions

Special Sessions Chairs

Kurt Barbé (kurt.barbe@vub.be)
Melanie Ooi (mooi@unitec.ac.nz)
Josè Contreras-Vidal (jlcontr2@Central.uh.edu)

Important Deadlines

September 15, 2017 September 30, 2017 - Special Session Proposal Deadline
November 5, 2017 - Full Paper Submission Deadline

Special Sessions Available

Non-Invasive Measurement Methods, Systems and Instrumentation

Organizer: Dr. Reza Zoughi (zoughi@mst.edu)
Invited Speaker: Elliott Cramer, NASA Langley Research Center
Invited Speech: Research Developments in Non-Invasive Measurement Systems for Aerospace Composite Structures at NASA

Read More


Optical fiber sensors in measurement systems and their application

Organizer: Nunzio Cennamo (nunzio.cennamo@unicampania.it)
Invited Speaker: Rogerio Nogueira, Creative Science Park 
Invited Speech: Plastic optical fibers and applications to sensors

Read More


Measurement in the Marine Environment

Organizer: Iryna P. Dzieciuch (iryna.dzieciuch@navy.mil)
Invited Speakers: Iryna Dzieciuch, Michael D. Putnam
Invited Speech: Navy Total Copper Analyzer Instrument for Real Time Measurement of Copper Concentrations in Situ

READ MORE


Advanced Measurement and Data Processing for Complex Engineering System Health Monitoring

Organizers: Dr. Weihua Li, South China University of Technology, China (whlee@scut.edu.cn), Dr. Ruqiang Yan, Southeast University, China (ruqiang@seu.edu.cn), Dr. Xuefeng Chen, Xi’an Jiaotong University, China (chenxf@xjtu.edu.cn)
Invited Speakers: Dr. Weihua Li, South China University of Technology, China (whlee@scut.edu.cn), Dr. Ruqiang Yan, Southeast University, China (ruqiang@seu.edu.cn), Dr. Xuefeng Chen, Xi’an Jiaotong University, China (chenxf@xjtu.edu.cn)
Invited Speech: Engineering System Health Monitoring: An Advanced Signal Processing Perspective

Read More


New trends in education in instrumentation and measurement

Organizer: Francesco Lamonaca, University of Sannio, Italy (flamonaca@unisannio.it), Francesco Picariello, University of Sannio (fpicariello@unisannio.it), and Mariella Riccio, University of Sannio (riccio@unisannio.it)
Invited Speaker: TBA
Invited Speech: TBA

Read More


Measurements for Modern Networks and Telecommunication Systems

Organizers: Domenico Capriglione, University of Salerno (capriglione@unicas.it) and Gianfranco Miele, University of Cassino and Southern Lazio (g.miele@unicas.it)
Invited Speaker: Michael D. Foegelle, Ph.D. ETS-Lindgren, Inc.
Invited Speech: RF Measurements in a 5G World

Read More


Recent advances in photonics sensing technology: sensors, instrumentations, measurements and applications

Organizers: Prof. Tuan Guo, Jinan University, China (tuanguo@jnu.edu.cn) and Prof. Yong Zhao, Northeastern University, China (zhaoyong@ise.neu.edu.cn)
Invited Speaker: Tongyu Liu, Laser Institute, Shandong Academy of Science, Shandong Micro-Sensor Photonics Limited
Invited Speech: Advances of Photonics Sensing Technology from Laboratories to the Fields

Read More


Measurement in Industrial Applications – Intelligent Manufacturing System (IMS) using smart sensors, smart machinery and industrial internet of things 

Organizers: Prof. Yao-Joe Yang, Instrument Technology Research Center, NARLabs (yjy@itrc.narl.org.tw), Dr. Fong-Zhi Chen, Instrument Technology Research Center, NARLabs (chen@itrc.narl.org.tw), and Dr. Chi-Hung Hwang, Instrument Technology Research Center, NARLabs (chhwang@itrc.narl.org.tw)
Invited Speaker: TBA
Invited Speech: TBA

Read More


Impedance Spectroscopy for Measurement and Sensor Solutions

Organizer: Prof. Olfa Kanoun, Technische Universität Chemnitz, Germany (kanoun@ieee.org)
Invited Speaker: TBA
Invited Speech: TBA

Read More


Health Monitoring Standardization and Implementation for Sensor Networks and Internet of Things (loT)

Organizers: Rastko Selmic, Concordia University (Rastko.Selmic@concordia.ca) and Francisco Javier Maldonad, American GNC Corporation (fmald@americangnc.com)
Invited Speakers: Dr. Francisco J. Maldonado and Mr. Stephen Oonk, American GNC Corporation
Dr. Rastko Selmic, Dr. Mike O'Neal, Mark Harms, Ademola Salawu, Dr. Drew Gardner, Department of Electrical Engineering Louisiana Tech University
Invited Speech: Health Electronic Datasheets (HEDS) for Enhanced Transducers Monitoring, Reliability, and Safe Operation

Read More


Healthcare in Smart Cities

Organizer: Dr. Octavian Postolache, IEEE IMS TC-13 chair, Instituto Universitario de Lisboa, ISCTE-IUL and Instituto de Telecomunicacoes, Lisbon, Portugal (opostolache@lx.it.pt)
Invited Speaker: TBA
Invited Speech: TBA

Read More


Instrumentation and measurement for improving quality, reliability and safety: new perspectives for research and industry

Organizers: Lorenzo Ciani, University of Florence, Italy (lorenzo.ciani@unifi.it), Marcantonio Catelani, University of Florence, Italy, Loredana Cristaldi, Politecnico di Milano, Italy, Giulio D’Emilia, University of L’Aquila
Invited Speaker: TBA
Invited Speech: TBA

Read More


Progresses on methodologies and devices for Energy Harvesting in autonomous or quasi-autonomous Sensors and Transducers

Organizer: Carlo Trigona, DIEEI, University of Catania, Catania, Italy (carlo.trigona@dieei.unict.it)
Invited Speaker: Grzegorz Litak, Lublin University of Technology
Invited Speech: Multiple response of nonlinear energy harvesting in the presence of noisy and periodic components

Read More


New Power Quality measurement issues in modern power systems

Organizers: Mihaela Albu, Politehnica University of Bucharest (albu@ieee.org) and Carlo Muscas, Università di Cagliari (carlo@diee.unica.it)
Invited Speaker: TBA
Invited Speech: TBA

Read More


Industry-driven innovations in instrumentation and measurements: disruptive achievements of startups, small and large businesses

Organizer: Luca Pollonini, University of Houston (lpollonini@uh.edu)
Invited Speaker: Sridhar Madala, PhD – Indus Instruments, Webster, TX
Invited Speech: TBA

Read More


New frontiers in biomedical instrumentation and measurements: a focus on neuroimaging and neuromodulation

Organizers: Luca Pollonini, University of Houston (lpollonini@uh.edu) and Jose L. Contreras-Vidal, University of Houston (jlcontreras-vidal@uh.edu)
Invited Speaker: TBA
Invited Speech: TBA

Read More

Click Image to Download PDF

Click Image to Download PDF

Patrons & Exhibitors

Sponsors